[1812] - America declares war on Britain

The War of 1812 was fought between American and British forces from 18 June 1812 to 18 February 1815. In response to continued British impressments of American sailors into the Royal Navy, and British support of native American tribes against the expansionist efforts of James Madison’s government, war broke out in the summer of 1812. Throughout the first two years of the war, American forces sought to invade British colonial territories in Canada, whilst also waging war against native American tribes. In 1813 the Americans enjoyed considerable success, seizing parts of western Ontario and Lake Erie, and defeating the Creek nation at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend. In 1814, however, the British forces were strengthened. They subsequently defeated the Americans at the Battle of Bladensburg, before capturing and burning Washington, DC. In the winter of 1814 American military victories enabled them to repel British attempts to invade New York, Baltimore and New Orleans. The War of 1812 saw major land and naval battles between the two countries before the Treaty of Ghent, signed on 24 December 1814, brought an end to hostilities.

Useful Links and Further Reading